Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/trajan21/domains/jivacoaching.nl/public_html/wp-content/themes/yogastudio/fw/core/core.reviews.php on line 214

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/trajan21/domains/jivacoaching.nl/public_html/wp-content/themes/yogastudio/fw/core/core.reviews.php on line 214

Ashtanga yoga

Ashtanga Vinyasa is an ancient, dynamic system of Yoga that unites synchronization of the breath with progressive series of postures (asanas).

Ashtanga vinyasa yoga (also called Ashtanga yoga) is a physically demanding form of yoga practice originally taught by Pattabhi Jois in the 1940s. Students follow a set sequence of postures each time, gradually progressing through the series. Ashtanga vinyasa yoga emphasises the linking of movement and breath (vinyasa), Ujjayi breathing and bandhas (energy locks).nThe breath, along with the movement and bandhas, helps to create internal heat in the body which improves circulation and detoxifies the system.

Benefits of a regular practice

  1. Strong and flexible body
  2. Clear Mind
  3. Improved circulation
  4. Detoxified system

Origins and History

Sri K. Pattabhi Jois

Ashtanga yoga is a system of yoga said to be derived from an ancient manuscript called the Yoga Korunta. The text of the Yoga Korunta was imparted to Sri T. Krishnamacharya around the 1900s who then taught it to his student Sri K. Pattabhi Jois. Jois then used this as the basis for Ashtanga vinyasa yoga which he started teaching in 1948.


Philosophy & Principles

The Sanskrit word Ashtanga translates as Eight-limbs, referring to the Eight-limbs of yoga as outlined by Patanjali in the Yoga Sutras. According to Pattabhi Jois daily asana practice is necessary to make the body strong and healthy which can then allow the mind to be steady and focused.

Ashtanga vinyasa is a very dynamic and athletic form of yoga. It is made up of six “series” (Primary, Intermediate and four Advanced series) each of which has a fixed order of poses. The traditional sequence starts with five Surya Namaskara A and five B, standing poses, one of the six series and ends with a finishing sequence. Traditionally this is taught in a “Mysore” style where the student learns the sequences gradually under the personalized guidance of a teacher, progressing onto the next posture when they are ready. Central to the practice is Ujjayi (victorious) breath. This deep audible, breath helps the student to keep the attention on the breath.

The term vinyāsa refers to the alignment of movement and breath but is also used to describe a series of movements used to link each asana in a series. The asana system is a moving meditation with the transition between each pose being as important as the postures themselves. Ashtanga vinyasa yoga is also practiced with the use of bandhas: mula bandha, uddiyana bandha and jalandhara bandha. These are locks or seals which help to direct energy in the body and create stability.

 Yoga chikitsa

Sri. T. Krishnamacharya

The Primary series is known as Yoga Chikitsa meaning yoga therapy. It aims to detoxify and realign the body. The Second or Intermediate series is known as Nadi Shodana (nerve cleansing) opening the energy channels in the nervous system and the spine, the four advanced series Sthira Bhaga (divine grace) continue to detoxify and refine the body while also developing greater mental focus and humility. At Jiva you can practice the primary series of Ashtanga yoga.

Practical information

The classes are held every Sunday morning from 10.30 to 12 pm. Beginners are welcome, modifications and clues are given to new students. That way Ashtanga yoga is made accessible to everyone. Should you miss a class, you can always catch up by joining the Tuesday evening class.



“An ancient system designed to heat, clean, open and purify the body and mind.”